The Driver Education Program, structured according to Idaho State Department of Education guidelines, complies with Idaho Law. Section 49-303, Idaho Code, states the Department of Transportation shall not issue a driver’s license to any person who is under the age of seventeen (17) years, except that the department may issue a driver’s license to any person who has successfully completed an approved driver training course and who is at least fourteen years and six months (14 ½) years of age, with driving privileges restricted to daylight hours only and with full privileges at sixteen years of age, after successfully completing the fifty (50) hours of supervised driving time, with ten hours during hours of darkness.At the age of fourteen years and six months (14 1/2) years of age, a student is eligible to enroll in driver education. To be included on the waiting list, the student must return a completed “Driver Education Permission Slip” to the school office. Students on the waiting list are contacted by school personnel and are given the opportunity to enroll on a first come first served basis. Students selected MUST have their permits purchased ONE WEEK (in calendar days) prior to the beginning day of class. If this deadline is NOT met, you will be replaced by another student. Students need to be at least fourteen years and six months old before they are assigned to a class.
A Driver Education Permit must be obtained from Drivers Licensing Office (200 S Almon) between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays, prior to the first class session. The permit fee is $15.00 and the road test fee is $6.50. In order to get the permit, you need to take a certified copy of the student’s birth certificate, social security card, a photo ID (ASB card, yearbook, or passport) and optical lenses (if needed). The student and a parent/legal guardian signature are required. A step parent cannot sign for liability (permit) unless he/she has been granted legal custody or has adopted the minor through the courts. The appropriate documentation must be brought to the Drivers Licensing office. Any questions concerning who can sign for a minor’s liability should be directed to Latah County Drivers Licensing at 883-7216.
A $165.00 fee per student will be required payable to Moscow High School and must be paid before the mandatory parent/student meeting.
The following information should answer many questions, but if more information is needed, please call Trudy Klas, Secretary, (email: firstname.lastname@example.org) at Moscow High School, 882-2591 between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
- The driver education permit allows the student to drive only in an approved auto with the instructor. Any student who violates this driving restriction will be dropped from the class roll.
- Each student must complete a minimum of six (6) hours of behind the wheel instruction, twelve (12) hours of in the auto observation, and thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction. The course will be a minimum of six (6) weeks, probably eight to twelve weeks.
- Classroom and driving sessions will be held before and/or after the normal school hours, on Saturdays, and during school vacations. Student input is considered when the driving schedule is developed; however, students are expected to avoid other conflicts whenever possible.
- Students who miss three (3) scheduled sessions, without good cause, i.e. illness, will be dropped from the class. If a student misses a driving session with an unexcused absence, he/she may be required to pay a $15.00 fee for the make-up drive. This is a one time only opportunity. Students may attend a driver training session only if they attend a full day of school. If school is canceled because of bad weather, driver education sessions will also be canceled for that day.